You can send a current file version or a draft of a new file to other users for information or approval. For example, you may need employees to review instructions and internal orders, or a manager to approve a statement of work or presentation.
You can send a file to several colleagues at once. Each of them will be tasked with reviewing or approving the document. A list of informed users or an approval sheet will be automatically generated on the file page, where the decisions of all users will be displayed.
Please note that a specific version of the file is sent for information or approval. If any employee adds a new version of the file before the process is complete, the process will be interrupted. All participants will be notified, and the list of informed users or approval sheet will be archived.
After all employees have completed the task, you can add a new version of the file and send it for information or approval again.
Send a file for information
- At the top of the page, click the Send button and select For information.
- In the opened window, fill in the fields:

- Add recipients.
- Select the information type:
- With confirmation. Enabled by default. Recipients will get a review task where they can read the file. On the file view page, on the sidebar, the List of Informed Users block will appear.
- Notify only. Selected users will get a notification with the file link in their #Activity stream. No list of informed users is generated.
- Set a deadline and leave a comment.
- Click Send.
Send a file for approval
- Click the Send button icon and select For approval.
- In the opened window, configure:

- Select users who will get a task for file approval. If you specify several employees, you see additional options to set the approval logic.
- Select the approval type:
- Parallel. The file is sent simultaneously to all employees specified in the Approvers* field. Select this option if the approval sequence is not important.
- Sequential. The employees receive the file for approval in the sequence in which the Approvers* field was filled out. Once one employee makes a resolution, the task of approval will be assigned to the next one.
- Determine the behavior of the system when the first rejection occurs:
- Interrupt. The process will be interrupted and a Rejected resolution will appear on the file view page or approval task .
- Continue. The process will continue, but a Rejected resolution will still be issued.
- Specify the date by which the approval task needs to be completed and add a comment.
- Click Send.
Information and approval tasks
When an information task with confirmation or approval task is assigned:
- A notification about the task assignment will be sent to the #Activity stream of all assignees.
- The assignee will receive an email notification about the information or approval task if such notifications are enabled in their profile settings. From the email, they can follow the link to BRIX and complete the task.
Instead of a regular notification for approval tasks, you can enable approval via email. The assignee can then review the document and make a decision from the email without going to BRIX. - the assigned task will appear in the assignee’s calendar if it has a deadline and the user profile has the enable the option to create an event.
Information and approval task page provide access to the file and related information: a link to the file view page, information or approval sheets, file versions, tasks assigned for the file, and the associated activity stream.
Using the three-dot button on the top bar of an information or approval task, the assignee can:
- Reassign the task to another assignee.
- Change the task completion percentage.
- Schedule the task by adding an event to their calendar, or adjust the task deadline if such an event was created automatically when the task was assigned.
These actions are performed in the same way as for a regular task. For more information, see Task actions.
Lists of informed users and approval sheets
The following block will appear in the sidebar on the file view page:
- Lists of Informed Users after assigning an information task with confirmation.
- Approval Sheets after assigning an approval task.
The block lists the employees reviewing the file and their resolutions. If a user leaves a comment or attaches a file during information or approval, this information is also displayed in the sheet. Until the assignee makes a decision, the
icon is displayed next to their name. Once the information or approval process is complete, you will see the final resolution in the right sidebar.

Furthermore, in the sheet you can:
- View the original and current assignees if the task was reassigned manually or automatically via substitution. To find out the reason for the assignee change, hover over the arrow between the employee names.
- View a list of users who have already made a decision or are still reviewing the task. This sorting is available when sending a file to multiple employees. To do this, click All users and select a filter.

- Download the sheet to your computer by clicking:
- The
icon for the .xlsx file. - The
icon for the .pdf file.
- The
Archive of lists of informed users and approval sheets
A specific version of the file is sent for information or approval. When an employee adds a new version, the current information or approval sheet is archived. The archive is available to all users and is displayed in the panel to the right of the file.
Users with access rights to edit a file can restore information and approval sheets from the archive. Let’s look at an example of when this might be needed.
An employee sends a file for approval. The approver reviews it and uploads a new version with comments. The sheet then goes to the Archive. To complete the approval, you need to restore the sheet from the archive and then make a decision. Otherwise, when trying to complete the task, the approver will see a message about the interrupted process. The sheet will display the Canceled status.
To make a sheet active, select Archive to the right of the file and click the arrow icon next to the sheet name. You can then complete the approval and task.
