﻿# Archive a project

> [HTML Version](archive-project.html)

A finished project can be archived and later returned to work, if necessary. These actions are available for users with the right to edit the project.

By default, you can start the archiving process for a project with the status **In progress** by clicking the **End** button on its page.

````
начало внимание

````
The system administrator can configure an individual [lifecycle](project-lifecycle.md) for each type of project.

````
конец внимание

````
When a project gets archived:

- It is assigned the **Archived** status. A project like this can be viewed in the **Projects** workspace, on the **Projects archive** page. The page is hidden by default, but an administrator can display it. You can open a project’s page by clicking on its name.

- All data on an archived project’s page is only available for viewing.

- The project plan and all the plan tasks are assigned the **Archived** status. Task participants get notifications about this. Such assignments can be viewed in the [Tasks > Project Tasks](project-tasks.md#project-tasks) on the **All** tab.

## Restore an archived project

You can resume working with a project that is archived. To do this, open the project page on the **Project archive** page and click the **Send back** button. This action is available for employees with the right to edit the project.

When a project is restored:

- The project and its plan are assigned the **Draft** status.

- Completed tasks remain with the **Completed** status, and the rest are assigned the **Draft** status. Tasks can be viewed in the [Tasks > Project Tasks](project-tasks.md#project-tasks) workspace on the **All** tab. Completed tasks will also be displayed on the **Completed** tab.

- It becomes possible to edit the project plan and all project data.

To make tasks in a restored project active again, [publish](publish-project-plan.md) the project plan.

## Configure the project archiving process

By default, preconfigured processes in the **Projects** app are used to archive projects and restore them. The system administrator can configure custom processes using:

- The [Archive](archive-the-project.md) and [Restore from Archive](restore-from-archive.md) activities or a custom [script](360027203731.md).

-  The [Manage Status](360012263332.md) activity to customize the status change.

Please note that a finished project should not be deleted as an item in the **Projects** app. This will not change the status of the project plan. Tasks will also remain active and their statuses will not change. The project plan and its tasks are items in other apps.