﻿# Group chat

> [HTML Version](360014162732.html)

A **Group chat **is a chat with at least three participants. This is a great way to synchronize work in a team, stay up to date with the latest events, share files and quickly resolve work issues. 

## Start a group chat

A group chat is created from a chat with one person. To start chatting with several people at the same time:

1. [Create a regular chat](360014191012.md#create_chat).

2. Add participants using one of the methods described below:

- On the sidebar of the chat, click on the **Add participant** button. In the search window that opens, start typing the name of the new participant and select the desired one among the matching names.**(hmfile_hash_20069f63.png)**

You can also click the magnifying glass icon to select new participants among all users. When all participants have been added, click **Create**.

- Use [@mentions](360014162052.md). In the message field, @mention the name of a user who has not yet joined the chat and send the message. You will receive an automatic notification that will let you start a new group chat.

## Manage a group chat

Any participant can add and remove people from the chat, change the chat name, enable or disable notifications.

### Add or remove participants

If you want to change the participants, click the **Edit participants** button on the sidebar of the chat and then:

- Exclude a colleague from the current chat by pressing the cross icon next to their name.

- Add a colleague to the chat by selecting the user using the search bar.

Save the changes.

### Rename a group chat

The name of any group chat by default consists of the names of people participating in the conversation. However, this is not always convenient. To easily find a conversation, it is preferable to give it a meaningful name.

To rename a chat, click the pencil icon next to the chat name and edit the name.

If you want to disable pop-up notifications of new messages, click **Mute notifications** on the sidebar of the chat.

### Hide or delete a group chat

An irrelevant group chat can be hidden or deleted. To do this, right-click on the chat name and select the appropriate option:

- **Hide Chat**. The chat will be hidden from your list but will still remain available to all the other participants. As soon as someone sends a new message to the chat, it will re-appear in your list.

- **Delete and Leave Chat**. The chat will be deleted from your list completely, you will also be removed from the list of participants and will not receive any new messages.

## Messaging in group chats

You send and receive messages in group chats in the same way as in a private chat. To learn more how to share files in chats, receive alerts about new messages and search in a chat, see [Chats](360014191012.md).