﻿# Change status and close a deal

> [HTML Version](360012693999.html)

When the status of a deal changes, the deal progresses from one stage of the [pipeline](360012693559.md) to another. Statuses can be changed manually or automatically within a business process, depending on the [pipeline’s settings](360012693559.md#change_manual) set by the [system administrator](360006871932.md#administrator).

The dates when a deal’s status changes are recorded. On the deal’s page and the [Kanban board](360012597080.md#kanban-board), you can see when each item was assigned the current status.

The system administrator can also configure the [visibility of statuses on the Kanban board](360012693559.md#kanban-stage-visibility). On the funnel page, you will only see those statuses to which you have been granted access.

## Change the status manually

If [manual status change](360012693559.md#change_manual) is selected in the pipeline’s settings, a user can change a deal’s status in two ways:

1. On the pipeline’s page, drag the deal from one stage to another.

**(deal-status-1.png)**

2. Open a [deal’s page](360012596920.md#deal_status). In the sidebar, click **Change**. Select the new status in the drop-down list. The deal will move to the corresponding stage of the pipeline.

**(deal-status-2.png)**

## Automatic status change

If [automatic status change within a business process](360012693559.md#change_manual) is selected in a pipeline’s settings, the deal will automatically go from one stage to another as users complete tasks assigned to them within the process.

## Close a deal

A deal is considered closed once it reaches a final status. There are two default final statuses: **Won** and **Lost**. The [administrator](360006871932.md#administrator) can change them in the [pipeline’s settings](360012693559.md) if necessary.

To [change its status](#change-status) to one of the final ones.

**(deal-status-3.png)**

If the deal was lost, specify the reason the customer decided not to buy your product. The list of these reasons can be edited by the [administrator](360006871932.md#administrator) in the [pipeline settings](360012693559.md).

**(deal-status-4.png)**

[CRM tasks](360012911980.md) associated with the deal will be closed automatically when it’s marked as lost.

## View closed deals

By default, closed deals are hidden from the pipeline. If you need to view a closed deal, go to the pipeline that it used to belong to. In the search bar, click the **(filter-icon.png)** icon. On the right of the search window, select one of the per-configured filters: **Won** or **Lost**.

**(deal-status-5.png)**

All the deals with the selected status will be displayed on the page. You can combine different filters for more precise search. Learn more about that in [Search and filters](360012693479.md).

**(deal-status-6.png)**

Moreover, the [administrator](360006871932.md#administrator) can change the [pipeline’s settings](360012693559.md#settings) so that deals in final statuses are always shown on the pipeline page.

## How to continue working with a closed a deal

By default, the status of a closed deal cannot be changed. However, if you need to reopen it, you can do it using the [Change Status](button-types-settings.md#change_status_button) button. It can be added to the deal page by the [administrator](360006871932.md#administrator). Read more about adding and setting up buttons in [Manage buttons on app item pages](360019228531.md#create-button).